Book smart.

So the beer tokens ended up being book tokens. Shock. I bought A History of Western Philosophy, Classical Mechanics: The Theoretical Minimum and Our Mathematical Universe: My Quest for the Ultimate Nature of Reality

It’s one of those moments when I kind of wonder about myself. I would normally make some kind of joke about it being light reading but I can’t do that since S caught me on the loo reading NatureSo the “light reading” joke doesn’t work any more because, to entirely blow my own trumpet, it is light reading for me. At the moment I’m still working my way through The European Miracle:  Environments, Economies and Geopolitics in the Histories of Europe and Asia which I would class as an enjoyable read, I find it relaxing. I’ve also just finished The Cardinal of the Kremlin which is marginally less challenging, shall we say, so I’m not all high brow nonfiction, but to be honest I get bored of fiction quite often because it just often lacks any kind of intellectual engagement. It has to be really highbrow fiction to make me think.

Then I think about the rest of my family which is packed full of intellectual overachievers, and also rivern with mental illness, obviously we’ve got those genetics and got them in abundance.  That though gives me a bit of an anchor point, I can say, “Yeah, I’m really intelligent, look at my family”.

 

 

Leave a Reply

